Blue Blooms and Hail

blue-irisBlue always seems to dominate in April. The Dutch Irises (totally imported and non-native, but I still adore them!) and the Dr. Seuss plants (what is the scientific or common name for these?) are always in bloom this time a year, even with the drought conditions. The bumble bees were all over the latter!

blue seuss

We stayed for a weekend with a rare forecast of a Pacific storm and that storm actually arrived. It was so wonderful to wake up to the soothing drumbeat of rain on the roof, a sound we hadn’t heard much in the last couple of years. Hearing, smelling and feeling the rain was so refreshing and relieving. I never thought I would ever even find myself thinking this way. Remember, Anchor Bay was supposed to be my salvation from the fog in Pacifica…how things have changed.

The rain was so welcome! Everyone in town was talking about it. So on Monday when we were moving some logs and wood around, it started pouring…and not just pouring, but hailing! Poor John down on the hill got drenched, the deck was covered in “snow” – it was quite a site!

Being up there reminded me yet again that it’s always good to slow down and watch what’s happening around you. One of the main reasons I so love Anchor Bay.

Leave a comment